Harry Kane spearheads England challenge at Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup to day

England expect them plow for the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup will compete for the trophy.

captain Harry Kane will be key to those high hopes for the English, and the star striker will partner many of the team that were beaten in the Euro 2020 final in 2021.

Gareth Southgate announced his 26-man squad on Thursday 10 November 2022, and there were few surprises as the manager largely relied on a core group of players who have grown in experience and profile under his tenure.

He included Leicester’s James Maddison and fellow midfielder Conor Gallagher, plus striker Callum Wilson. Tammy Abraham from Roma is missing.

Scroll down to the full squad.

England squad for Qatar 2022 and World Cup squad

Goalkeepers – England squad for Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

  • Jordan Pickford (Everton),
  • Nick Pope (Newcastle),
  • Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders – England squad for Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

  • Trent Alexander Arnold (Liverpool),
  • Conor Coady (Everton),
  • Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur),
  • Harry Maguire (Manchester United),
  • Luke Shaw (Manchester United),
  • John Stones (Manchester City),
  • Kieran Trippier (Newcastle Utd),
  • Kyle Walker (Manchester City),
  • Ben White (Arsenal).

Midfielders – England squad for Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

  • Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund),
  • Conor Gallagher (Chelsea),
  • Jordan Henderson (Liverpool),
  • Mason Mountain (Chelsea),
  • Kalvin Phillips (Manchester City),
  • Declan Rice (West Ham).

Forward – England squad for Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup

  • Phil Foden (Manchester City),
  • Jack Grealish (Manchester City),
  • Harry Kane – Captain (Tottenham Hotspur),
  • James Maddison (Leicester City),
  • Marcus Rashford (Manchester United),
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal),
  • Raheem Sterling (Manchester City),
  • Callum Wilson (Newcastle United).

Team lineups will be confirmed approximately one hour before the scheduled kick-off time for each match. In addition to the eleven players who start the match, there will also be 15 substitutes available by country on the bench for each match. This increase from 12 in previous tournaments is to give teams additional flexibility due to potential issues related to the Covid-19 pandemic. A maximum of 5 substitutes per team can be used during the match.

England’s line-up can vary depending on the opposition, but the players switch from 3 to 5 players at the back, with Harry Kane and Raheem Sterling probably start at the front. Jordan Pickford expected to start in target.

England game schedule with kick-off times at FIFA World Cup in Qatar

The biggest event in men’s football will take place from November 20 to December 18, marking the first time the tournament has been held in the northern hemisphere’s winter season.

England are in Group B for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, and begin their campaign on the second day of the tournament with a group stage match against Iran on Monday 21 November 2022. The match will take place in Al Rayyan, on the western outskirts of the capital Doha, and will start at 16:00 Qatar time, which is 13:00 GMT in the UK.

England’s second game is against the United States. It takes place in Al Khor in the north of Qatar, on Thanksgiving Day in the US. Friday November 25, 2022. That game starts at 10 p.m. in Qatar, which is 7 p.m. in London and 2 p.m. in New York.

The third and final group game for England is against Great Britain’s neighbours Wales and their star man Gareth Bale. It takes place in Al Rayyan on November 29 at 10:00 PM Qatar time, which is 7:00 PM in England and Wales.

The two teams with the most points from each group will advance to the round of 16, which will take place from 3 to 6 December 2022.

The quarter-finals are December 9 and 10, the semi-finals are December 13 and 14, while the trophy is won in the final on Sunday December 18, which is also the national holiday of Qatar.

How to watch England at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar live on TV and digital streaming channels

In the United Kingdom, the England and Wales matches at the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup will be broadcast live for free on BBC1 or ITV1, and on their online platforms iPlayer and ITVhub.

The media rights for host country Qatar will allow beIN Sports to broadcast all 64 matches live in 24 countries in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA), including Iranon TV and with digital live streaming.

In America, coverage includes streaming of United States games on FOX’s Peacock service, plus Telemundo in Spanish.

In India, all England matches in the 2022 FIFA World Cup will be broadcast live on Sports18 and Sports18 HD TV channels in India. Live streaming will be available on Voot Select and JioTV.

The full list of media rights licensees for TV, radio, mobile and web is available on the FIFA website here.


Previous post
BREAKING: Police cordon and forensic tent in place after body found – latest updates
Next post
Health commissioner quizzed on curbing medical device shortage –